JUDITH GROHMANN

English 19. Mai 2010

deutsch/français

.IMG_1349

Judith Grohmann was born in Vienna the same day Karl Lagerfeld blow out 39 and the british actor Colin Firth 8 candles on their birthday cakes. Her father was a highly appreciated, influential Austrian clinical psychologist, her mother comes from a leather manufacturer Dynasty. Judith grew up speaking fluent three languages. An alumni of the Private school Lycée Français de Vienne, she then graduated from the University of Vienna where she finished her studies in the shortest possible time. She majored in Political Science, Journalism and Japanese with a Master´s degree.

Judith is a passionate and committed writer. At the elementary school she started to write very soon little poems and short storys. At the age of 11 she launched her first newspaper for her friends at school. At the age of 17 she meet the publisher and editor-in-chief of Austria´s political magazine Profil and told him, that she wanted to write investigative stories. Two months later she was appointed managing editor at Profil and continued to work as an investigative journalist.

In the history of European Media Judith Grohmann was the youngest investigative journalist and Managing editor. In 1995 she changed from the magazine-world to newspapers. She worked as a Columnist and as Executive Editor for the economics department of the leading Austrian center right and liberal newspaper Die Presse. In 2002 she switched to the social liberal daily newspaper Der Standard, were she worked as economical journalist and executive editor for the career department.

2003 Judith was appointed the offical Foreign Correspondent from Austria for the Bavarian newspaper Münchner Merkur.

Judith Grohmann is extremely interested in the development of worldwide economies, politics and the people. Many times she took the opportunity to work in „real life jobs“ – for example as Headhunter, Campaigner or Lobbyist – in order to be able to describe more precisely the reality in her articles. She has worked for a multitude of newspapers and magazines in Europe, for example for Le Monde diplomatique, Westdeutsche Allgemeine Zeitung or the Swiss Manager magazine Bilan as well as architectural, industrial and political magazines. She worked also for the French Press Agency AFP, the Agence France Presse.  She became an author in 2005 but also works as Lecturer at the University. Today she lives in Vienna, but is often seen between Paris, London and the South of France.

Judith´s last book is entitled On a Secret Mission. Written in a reportage-style it describes the real operations of Counter Terrorist-units from 16 countries, like: USA, Russia, Israel, Jordania, up to 12 european countries. This book has known an enormous success, because Judith is worldwide the first non-insider being introduced into the world of active Counter Terrorist-units. In this book she gives her readers a look behind the curtain of the work of these courageous men and women, who fight every day against terrorism and crime, to guarantee with their own life the security of the citizens.

Her book „On a Secret Mission“ has been presented internationally in June 2016 at the EU Parliament in Brussels. Judith was on the podium with the Commander of the Belgian anti-terrorist unit DSU Roland Pacolet, the military commissioner for NATO’s Austrian mission, Rainer Winter, and the director of the Austrian Cultural Forum in Brussels, Marina Chrystoph.

Judith dedicated this book to the American actor Kevin Spacey, because, after watching his performance of police Lieutenant Chris Sabian in the movie „The Negotiator“ in 1998, she became extremely interested in the topic of Security and the work of Counter-Terrorist-units.

Since 2015 Judith gives lectures at the Department for Business Law and European Integration of the Danube University Krems. Details below:

http://www.donau-uni.ac.at/de/universitaet/whois/21998/index.php

She is also a member of the two biggest Austrian writers associations:

http://www.literaturhaus.at/index.php?id=3502&L=0%252Fadmin%252Ffile_manager.php%252Findex.php%2C

http://www.literar.at

JUDITH GROHMANN

Biography 19. Mai 2010

français/english

.IMG_1349

Judith Grohmann wurde in Wien an jenem Tag geboren, an dem Karl Lagerfeld 39 und der britische Schauspieler Colin Firth 8 Kerzen auf ihren Geburtstagstorten ausbliesen. Ihr Vater war ein weit über die Grenzen Österreichs bekannter Klinischer Psychologe, ihre Mutter stammt aus einer Lederfabrikanten-Dynastie. Sie ist dreisprachig aufgewachsen, ist Absolventin des Lycée Français de Vienne und der Universität Wien, wo sie in Rekordzeit Journalismus, Politikwissenschaften und Japanologie studierte.

Schreiben ist Ihr Leben und Ihre große Leidenschaft. Mit 11 Jahren konzipierte sie eine Schülerzeitung, mit 17 ging sie zum Herausgeber des bekanntesten österreichischen Enthüllungs- und Nachrichtenmagazins „profil“ und bot ihm an, für ihn als Investigativ-Journalistin zu arbeiten. Zwei Monate später bot ihr der selbe Herausgeber an, neben ihrer Tätigkeit als Journalistin auch als Chefin vom Dienst für „profil“ zu arbeiten.

Judith Grohmann war die jüngste Investigativ-Journalistin und Schlussredakteurin Österreichs. 1995 wechselte sie von der Magazinwelt zur konservativen Tageszeitung „Die Presse“ als Kolumnistin, Redakteurin und stellvertretende Leiterin des Beilagenressorts. 2002 ging sie als Wirtschaftsjournalistin und stellvertretende Karriere-Ressortleiterin zur liberalen Tageszeitung „Der Standard“. Seit dem Jahr 2003 ist sie Österreich-Korrespondentin der bayerischen Tageszeitung „Münchner Merkur“.

Judith Grohmann ist an der Entwicklung der Wirtschaft, der Politik und der Menschen interessiert. Immer wieder wagt sie einen Exkurs in die wirtschaftliche Realität – ob als Headhuntern, Campaignerin oder als Lobbyistin – um den Dingen auf den Grund zu gehen und das Erlebte noch besser in ihren Artikeln zu beschreiben. Sie hat für zahlreiche renommierte Medien in Europa gearbeitet, darunter die „Agence France Presse“, „Le Monde diplomatique“ und das Schweizer Wirtschaftsmagazin „Bilanz“ sowie diverse Architektur-, Industrie- und Wirtschaftsmagazine und etliche Tageszeitungen. Judith Grohmann lebt in Wien, wird aber häufig in Paris, London und Südfrankreich gesichtet.

Sie arbeitet heute als Journalistin und Auslands-KorrespondentinAutorin, Ghostwriterin und als Lektorin an der Universität.

In ihrem aktuellen Buch „In geheimer Mission“ berichtet sie von den spektakulärsten Einsätzen von Anti-Terroreinheiten in 16  Ländern dieser Welt, darunter: die USA, Russland, Israel, Jordanien und 12 Länder in Europa. Dieses Buch ist deshalb so brisant und aus diesem Grund auch international erfolgreich, weil Judith als erste Außenstehende Zugang zu international aktiven Einheiten erhalten hat und ihren Lesern einen Einblick in die Arbeit dieser couragierten Männer und Frauen in den Eliteeinheiten beim Kampf gegen Kriminalität und Terror gewährt. Jenen Einheiten, die tagtäglich mit ihrem eigenen Leben im Dienst der Sicherheit der Bevölkerung stehen.

Das Buch „In geheimer Mission“ wurde im Juni 2016 im EU-Parlament in Brüssel international vorgestellt. Judith diskutierte am Podium mit dem Kommandanten der Belgischen Anti-Terroreinheit DSU Roland Pacolet, dem Militärbeauftragten für Österreichs Mission bei der NATO, Rainer Winter, sowie der Direktorin des Österreichischen Kulturforums in Brüssel, Marina Chrystoph.

Judith hat dieses Buch dem US-amerikanischen Schauspieler Kevin Spacey gewidmet. Nachdem sie Spaceys Darstellung des Verhandlungsführers Chris Sabian in dem Film „Verhandlungssache“ im Jahr 1998 sah, hat sie begonnen, sich für das Thema Sicherheit und die Arbeit von Anti-Terror-Einheiten zu interessieren.

Seit 2015 trägt Judith Grohmann an der Donau Universität Krems am Department für Wirtschaftsrecht und Europäische Integration vor. Details unter:

http://www.donau-uni.ac.at/de/universitaet/whois/21998/index.php

Sie ist ebenfalls Mitglied der IG Autorinnen und Autoren sowie der Literar Mechana:

http://www.literaturhaus.at/index.php?id=3502&L=0%252Fadmin%252Ffile_manager.php%252Findex.php%2C

http://www.literar.at